The Future. And its Technology.

Design as a discipline is strongly infused by technology; interacting, challenging and coexisting alongside one another. And as history has shown, this bond only increases over time. Perhaps this is the cause of significant anxiety and questioning over the future and technology’s role. Will robots take over the world? Will we live on Mars? Travel on hover-boards?  (unfortunately, still unlikely)

L1004266-01

(Dunne & Raby 2012)

Design duo Dunne & Raby have presented far more compelling speculative futures through United Micro Kingdoms – particularly the kingdom of the Anarcho-Evolutionists. Abandoning most technologies, or at stopping development of them, Anarcho-Evolutionists concentrate of ‘science to maximise their own physical capabilities through training, DIY biohacking and self-experimentation’. (Dunne & Raby 2012) Humans modify themselves ‘to exist within the limits of the planet rather than modifying the planet to meet ever growing needs’ (Dunne & Raby 2012). Families undergo metamorphosis over generations, distinct physical make-up is associated with each clan and becomes a matter of pride.

“We become what we behold. We shape our tools and thereafter our tools shape us.”

—Marshall McLuhan

(Culkin 1967)

When asked to envision future universities by Ali, my group collectively acknowledged the tools we utilise shape us and our design practice. Realising that our current use of technology is moulded by our fields of study – ie. fashion: sewing machine, tenaka, digital printing, etc – it unwittingly highlighted technologies determination of our behaviour, lifestyle and personality. Thus, we wanted future technologies to mould behaviours that were profitable, desiring more exposure to industry technologies and networks that university did not currently provide. We were passionate that technology did not replace face-to-face social interaction as we found networking to be a fundamental skill.

By resolving key values in regards to technology, we developed a futuring scenario based upon an economic/industry skills axis. In our Utopian quadrant – UTS developed a department store that gave students the opportunity to work in commercial industry; involvement would not be compulsory as students apply for positions. Full-time employees run the department store whilst communication students prototype marketing, design students propose products to buyers and business students worked alongside the finance team etc. Realistically, there substantial flaws that we left unresolved –  the increase of university fees, the loss of international students, the replacement of competition in friendly environments and even if this scheme produced a different, more successful kind of graduate. And yet, perhaps to my shame, we were all so captivated by the chance to integrate more technology into our degree that these flaws were seen of little consequence. Revealing the extent of which we value technological futures.

Perhaps this is why I felt so enthused when discovering Dunne & Raby’s collaboration with designer Michael Anastassiades – Do You Want to Replace the Existing Normal? (07/08). Their exploration of future technology appears frivolous but aims to address a, perhaps utopian, future where everyday needs become more complex, addressing imaginative and impractical needs and desires. (Dunne & Raby 2013) My personal favourite work Alignment, is programmed with the owners horoscope and on key astrological dates an ‘airbag is filled. An explosion of pinkness. It takes seconds, like an airbag in a car crash. Voluminous. Fantastic. A triclinic crystal: a form without 90 degree angles. Perhaps no one sees it, only the aftermath.’ (Anastassiades, Dunne & Raby 2007) It then deflates and the owner must decide what it means.

pink1

(Anastassiades 2007)

This is the kind of technology in the future that is exciting; the variety that questions design.

B I B L I O G RA P H Y

Anastassiades M 2007, Do You Want to Replace the Existing Normal, photographed by F.Ware, viewed 17 October 2014, <http://oldsite.michaelanastassiades.com/collaboration/Do+you+want+to+replace+the+existing+normal%3F/Do+you+want+to+replace+the+existing+normal%3F/83&gt;

Anastassiades M, Dunne A & Raby F 2007, Dunne & Raby: Do You Want to Replace the Existing Normal? 2007/08, Accessed 17 October 2014, <http://www.dunneandraby.co.uk/content/projects/75/0&gt;

Culkin J, S 1967, ‘A Schoolman’s Guide to Marshall McLuhan’, Saturday Review, March 18, pp. 51-53

Dunne A & Raby F 2012, Anarcho-Evolutionists, photographed by J.Evans, viewed 17 October 2014, <http://www.unitedmicrokingdoms.org/anarcho-evolutionists/&gt;

Dunne A & Raby F 2012, United Micro Kingdoms, Accessed 17 October 2014, <http://www.unitedmicrokingdoms.org/anarcho-evolutionists/&gt;

Dunne A & Raby F 2013, ‘Design as Critique’, in Speculate Everything, Cambridge Press, pp. 33-46

32 comments

  1. What i do not understood is in truth how you’re now not actually much more well-appreciated than you might be now.
    You are so intelligent. You understand thus significantly relating to this subject,
    produced me in my view believe it from numerous numerous angles.

    Its like men and women don’t seem to be interested except it’s
    something to accomplish with Lady gaga! Your own stuffs excellent.
    All the time deal with it up!

    Like

  2. An outstanding share! I’ve just forwarded ths onto a co-worker
    who wass ddoing a little research oon this.
    And he actually ordered mme lunch simply because I discovered itt for him…
    lol. So let me reword this…. Thank YOU for the meal!!
    But yeah, thanx foor spending soome time to discuss this issue
    here on your web site.

    Like

  3. Hello! Someone in my Myspace group shared this website with
    us so I came to look it over. I’m definitely enjoying the information. I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting this to my followers!
    Superb blog and great design and style.

    Like

  4. I am really impressed with your writing skills as well as with the layout on your weblog.
    Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself?
    Anyway keep up the excellent quality writing, it is rare to see a great blog like this one today.

    Like

  5. Good day very cool blog!! Guy .. Beautiful .. Wonderful ..
    I will bookmark your web site and take the feeds
    additionally? I am satisfied to search out a lot of
    helpful information right here in the submit, we want work out more strategies on this regard, thanks
    for sharing. . . . . .

    Like

  6. Hey there! This pos couldn’t be written any better!
    Reading throuygh this post reminds me of my oldd room mate!
    He always kept chatting about this. I will forward this
    write-up too him. Pretty sure he will have a good read.
    Thank you for sharing!

    Like

  7. Fantastic beat ! I wish to apprentice while you amend your site, how can i subscribe for a blog website?
    The account helped me a acceptable deal. I had been a little bit
    acquainted of this your broadcast offered bright clear idea

    Like

  8. I am not certain where you are getting your info,
    but great topic. I must spend some time learning much more or working out more.
    Thanks for excellent information I used to be looking for
    this information for my mission.

    Like

  9. I used to be suggested this web site by my cousin. I am not
    sure whether this publish is written through him as no one else
    recognise such certain about my trouble. You are wonderful!

    Thank you!

    Like

  10. I appreciate, lead too I found just what I used to be looking for.
    You’ve ended my four day long hunt! God Bless you man. Have a niice day.
    Bye

    Like

  11. First off I want to say fantastic blog! I had a quick question in which I’d like to ask
    if you don’t mind. I was interested to know
    how you center yourself and clear your mind prio to writing.
    I’ve had a tough time clering my thoughts in getting my ideas out there.
    I do enjoy writing but it just seems like the first 10 to 15
    minutes are generally wasted jst trying to figure out hoow tto begin. Any ideas or tips?
    Thank you!

    Like

  12. Hey there I am so thrilled I found your webpage, I really found you by mistake, while
    I was searching on Digg for something else, Nonetheless I am here
    now and would just like to say thanks a lot for a incredible post and a all round entertaining
    blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read it all at the minute but I have bookmarked
    it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have
    time I will be back to read a lot more, Please do keep up the superb
    b.

    Like

  13. I was recommended this website by my cousin. I’m no longer sure whether or not
    this publish is written by means of him as no one else understand such particular
    about my trouble. You’re amazing! Thank you!

    Like

  14. We absolutely love your blog and find the majority of your post’s to be precisely what I’m looking for.
    Would you offer guest writers to write content for yourself?

    I wouldn’t mind publishing a post or elaborating on a few of the subjects you write with regards to here.
    Again, awesome site!

    Like

Leave a Reply

